If you are involved in a crash in Montana, then you should know about the car accident settlement process and the time it takes to settle the claim. Understanding this can help you better plan for your own financial issues during the time it takes to resolve the claim and get the care you need.
In Montana, you have to report an accident if it resulted in the death of any person. If someone is injured or there is property damage exceeding $1,000, you need to report the incident to the police as soon as possible. You have up to 10 days to file the written report with the Montana Motor Vehicle Division after the report is given to police on the day of the incident.
Will drivers have insurance in Montana?
All drivers should have insurance, because Montana requires all drivers to have liability insurance at a minimum. This liability coverage should have $25,000 or more for bodily injuries, $50,000 or more for injuries to people in an accident and at least $20,000 for property damage. These are minimums, so some insurance policies will have better coverage. Those who do not meet these requirements can face the loss of their licenses and heavy fines. If you’re injured by someone who does not have insurance, you can file a lawsuit and personal injury claim.
What claims system does Montana use?
Montana uses the fault system, which means that it gives those who are injured the option to receive compensation through a third-party claim, lawsuit against the driver at fault or with their own insurance company. It is typical to settle the case with the other party’s insurance company before having to go to court, but in the case that you can’t come to an agreement, the court will hear the case and may award a fair amount of compensation to the victim.
There is no set way to get a settlement in Montana, so each case has its own merits and will be considered individually. If you are hurt, make sure you retain all medical documents and receipts for traveling to and from the hospital, picking up prescriptions and other related expenses. It is your right to seek compensation for all expenses related to the collision, even if it’s something as simple as the cost of gas to get to an appointment.