Montana has no-fault laws for workers’ compensation. That means your employer’s workers’ compensation policy must pay benefits for your job-related illness or injury regardless of cause.
Review the answers to frequently asked questions about the workers’ compensation process in Montana.
What types of benefits are available?
After an injury that occurs at work or a work-related illness, workers’ compensation benefits in Montana may include:
- Medical expenses related to the injury or illness
- Temporary partial or total disability wage replacement
- Permanent partial or total disability wage replacement
- Job rehabilitation benefits to help you return to employment
What are the filing deadlines?
You must notify your employer about a work-related injury or illness within 30 days. However, you have a full year to file an insurance claim for workers’ compensation benefits related to the injury or illness. After you submit a claim or your employer submits on your behalf, the insurance provider must respond with approval or denial within 30 days.
Can I see my own doctor?
Your employer can specify the health care provider you see for covered workers’ compensation treatment. However, you can see your own physician until the insurance company accepts or denies your workers’ compensation claim.
What if I receive claim denial?
If your employer’s insurance company denies your claim, you can ask the Employment Relations Division for a meeting with an impartial mediator. If this mediation session does not result in an agreement, you can file a complaint in Montana Workers’ Compensation Court. You have the right to attorney representation throughout this process.
If your doctor diagnosed you with a work-related injury or illness, tell your employer as soon as possible. Document all medical care you receive and submit this information with your coverage claim.